Talks & Teachings


Forest Sangha Publications – As of 2016 this website has been folded into, and makes available many audio and e-book downloads from disciples of Ajahn Chah. Dhamma Talks, chanting, e-books (as well as printed books), calendars and more. Also accessible via these shorter URLs: and


Other monastery websites have a variety of resources available, such as the Amaravati and Abhayagiri websites, and many of those listed on the community portal site:


Access To Insight makes available an enormous amount of Theravada Buddhist textual material, including translated discourses of the Buddha and many books from teachers in the Thai forest tradition as well as material from the Buddhist Publication Society. offers downloads of Dhamma Talks, books and essays by Ajahn Thanissaro of Metta Forest Monastery in various audio and text formats.


The Forest Dhamma website offers books and audio teachings by Ajahn Maha Boowa and Ajahn Paññavaddho in English and other languages.



Associated monasteries



Abhayagiri Buddhist Monastery – A large branch monastery in California, the first to be established in North America. Abbots: Ajahn Karunadhammo, Ajahn Nyaniko; founding abbot: Ajahn Pasanno.


Pacific Hermitage – A branch of Abhayagiri in the Pacific Northwest. Abbot: Ajahn Sudanto.


Temple Forest Monastery (Jetavana) – An emerging branch monastery in Temple, New Hampshire. Abbots: Ajahn Jayanto, Ajahn Anando.




Tisarana Buddhist Monastery – A branch monastery in Perth, Ontario. Abbot: Ajahn Viradhammo.


Arrow River Forest Hermitage – A small, related hermitage in Thunder Bay, Ontario. Abbot: Ajahn Punnadhammo.


Sitavana (Birken Forest Monastery) – A related monastery and retreat center in British Columbia. Abbot: Ajahn Sona.




Amaravati Buddhist Monastery – The main monastery in England, with communities of monks and nuns, and a retreat center. Founded by Ajahn Sumedho. Abbot: Ajahn Amaro.


Cittaviveka (Chithurst Buddhist Monastery) – The first Ajahn Chah forest monastery outside of Thailand. Founded by Ajahn Chah and Ajahn Sumedho, with communities of monks and nuns. Abbot: Ajahn Ahimsako.


Aruna Ratanagiri (Harnham Buddhist Monastery) – A branch monastery in Northumberland, near the Scottish border. Abbot: Ajahn Munindo.


Hartridge Buddhist Monastery – A small branch in the Devon countryside. Abbot: Ajahn Jutindharo.


The Forest Hermitage (Wat Pah Santidhamma) – A small branch of Wat Pah Pong in Warwickshire, England. Abbot: Ajahn Khemadhammo.


Milntuim Hermitage, in Perthshire, Scotland, is a place where nuns can live in a female community or on solitary retreat. Abbess: Ajahn Candasiri.




Dhammapala Kloster – A branch in Switzerland. Main languages are German and English. Annual newsletters are also produced in French and Thai. Abbot: Ajahn Abhinando.


Santacittarama Monastero – A branch in Italy. Three main languages: Italian, Thai, and English. Abbot: Ajahn Chandapalo.


The Portuguese Vihara (Sumedharama) – A new branch monastery near Lisbon, Portugal. Abbot: Ajahn Vajiro


Muttodaya Waldkloster – A loosely related forest monastery in Germany, with websites in German, English and Thai. Abbot: Ajahn Cattamalo.


Skiptvet Buddhist Monastery is a newly established associated forest monastery in Norway, not far from Oslo. Abbot: Ajahn Kalyano.




Wat Nong Pah Pong – Ajahn Chah’s monastery in Ubon Rajathani, Thailand. This is the main monastery for the Ajahn Chah community. The website is in Thai. Abbot: Ajahn Liem.


Wat Pah Nanachat – The ‘International Forest Monastery’. Wat Pah Nanachat was established by Ajahn Chah, who asked Ajahn Sumedho to be the first abbot. Located a few miles from Wat Pah Pong, it is the main monastery in Thailand for Western monks in the Ajahn Chah community. Abbot: Ajahn Kevali.


Wat Marp Jan – A branch in Rayong Province, which also accepts Westerners who wish to become monks. Abbot: Ajahn Anan.


Wat Boonyawad – A branch in Chonburi Province, which also accepts Westerners who wish to become monks. Abbot: Ajahn Dtun.


Wat Ratanawan – A branch in Korat Province, where English-speaking monks live and train alongside Thai monks. Abbot: Ajahn Nyanadhammo.


Anandagiri Forest Monastery – A branch in Petchabun Province where English-speaking monks from the Ajahn Chah community live and train. Abbot: Ajahn Achalo.




Buddha Bodhivana Monastery – Buddha Bodhivana is a branch located in East Warburton, about one and a half hours from Melbourne. Abbot: Ajahn Kalyano.


Wat Buddha Dhamma – A remote branch located in Dharug National Park, New South Wales, outside of Sydney. Abbot: Ajahn Khemavaro.


Dhammagiri Forest Hermitage – A small branch in the quiet hills outside of Brisbane. Abbot: Ajahn Dhammasiha.


Vimokkharam Forest Hermitage – A small hermitage outside of Melbourne. Abbot: Ajahn Hasapañño.


Bodhisaddha Forest Monastery – An emerging branch of Wat Marp Jan about an hour outside of Sydney. Overseeing abbot: Ajahn Anan.


New Zealand


Bodhinyanarama – A branch established by Ajahn Sumedho in the mid-eighties, near Wellington. Abbot: Ajahn Kusalo.


Vimutti Buddhist Monastery – A branch outside of Auckland. Abbot: Ajahn Chandako.


South America


Suddhavari Buddhist Monastery – Another emerging branch, located near the small hill city of São Lourenço, Minas Gerais State, Brazil. Abbot: Ajahn Mudito



Training monasteries for women


Western Ajahn Chah branch monasteries with nuns’ communities where women live and train in the same way as monks are located in the UK, at Amaravati, Cittaviveka, and Milntuim (see the links above). Women seeking training are usually asked to apply to the nuns’ community at Amaravati to begin with.


Other dedicated Theravada Buddhist nuns’ monasteries are emerging around the world. Following are links to some in North America which provide monastic training along the lines of Theravada forest traditions from Sri Lanka, Thailand, Burma, and the West, or information on where to explore further:


Sati Saraniya Hermitage is a Buddhist sanctuary and Theravada bhikkhuni monastery for women seeking a spiritual life, near Perth, Ontario.


Aloka Vihara Forest Monastery is located in the Sierra Foothills of California and offers a place where women can train as nuns and lay visitors can practice and serve.


Dhammadharini Monastery and Aranya Bodhi Forest Hermitage are related monasteries dedicated to the support and training of bhikkhunis, located in the Sonoma area of California.


Mahapajapati Monastery is a meditation monastery for women dedicated to living the Buddha’s teachings. It is located in Southern California, north of Palm Springs.


Karuna Buddhist Vihara is a Theravada monastery dedicated to sharing the Buddha’s teachings. It is located in Mountain View, CA, in the San Francisco Bay Area.



Other Links


Jeta Grove Foundation is the religious non-profit organization which is responsible for Temple Forest Monastery (Jetavana). Ways to make donations to this monastery, and other financial information, can be found on the Jeta Grove website. 


Contemplative poetry selected by Ajahn Sucitto and Ajahn Abhinando